It’s Just Funny At This Point

Where I am: CD25 (13dpo)—I am not doing pregnancy weeks and days yet because, honestly, I don’t know how the hell to calculate it since I O’d on CD11-13ish
Medications: Crinone, Lovenox
Symptoms: peeing, tiredness, aversion to smells (although it could just be that the DC metro elevators smell just that bad)


So yesterday, I get my blood drawn at a Quest Diagnostics. I ask the lady when I’ll get the results, she says probably tomorrow. My RE’s office had asked me to call after I got it done, and I forgot, so that probably didn’t help matters.

The RE calls me early this afternoon while J and I are in the Holocaust Museum (where cell phones are NOT PERMITTED AT ALL) because my nurse is looking for the phone number for the place I went to (and also confirmation that I had the bloodwork done). I call back around 4:00 when we get out and I give the number to another nurse, who doesn’t seem to understand what the hell I’m talking about. I then call Quest myself; the lady tells me that they don’t have the goddamn results because they send the tests to Baltimore and everything is handled from there. She then tells me they should’ve been faxed to my doctor’s office. The first nurse calls back and says she keeps getting disconnected from the number she has for Quest. Since the second nurse didn’t give her the number, I give it to her. She calls me back a moment later and says there’s only a voicemail; Quest is closed for the holiday weekend.

And my results seem to have vanished into thin, fucking, air.

So I just spend out-of-pocket money for a test that will no longer be relevant by the time I get the results, which might be Monday if we can hunt down the people who have them.

O_o

No beta. No reassurance. No nothing. Until I get home, at least.

I may try and get tested again while in VA, but who knows. And who knows how helpful that’ll be.

And then don’t even get me started on the whole leg thing. J’s FMLA stuff is due Tuesday (the day before we get back) and my doctor’s office is saying they can’t complete the paperwork until they see me for the follow-up a week from Monday. And then of course, they don’t know about the pregnancy. So who knows if they can X-ray me. So…I mean…

I’m on vacation, for shit’s sake. Why can’t I relax?

Don’t get me wrong, I’m beyond grateful for this pregnancy and I hope so hard that it sticks. But I need the rest of my life to cooperate. And right now, it’s not. In about a trillion different ways. Hormones aside, I’m freaking the hell out.

#teamjunebug

5 thoughts on “It’s Just Funny At This Point

  1. I wish you could have wine and beer. That always makes things better. But maybe this is just the universe testing you a bit and it’ll knock that shit off soon. Being an adult sucks sometimes.

  2. Oi! I can’t even believe it! How frustrating! I hope you can relax a little bit this weekend, though I know it’s going to be hard! Do you think you’ll POAS again? Everything is crossed for Junebug!

Leave a comment